

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE INDEPENDENCE HOUSING

AUTHORITY convened in a Special Meeting – 4215 S. Hocker Dr., Bldg. 5, Independence, MO 64055 on July 31, 2020.

Board Chairperson Beth Franklin presided.

To Meet the Sunshine Law 610.020.1 due to COVID-19 purposes, we provided a conference call phone number and access code for residents and the public to utilize for this board meeting. No one, outside of the board and staff, was allowed to be physically in the meeting.

Conference Call Phone Number: 1-816-285-6375 Participant PIN: 2018

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Board Chairperson - Beth Franklin at 9:09 AM.

Roll Call: The following Commissioners were present:

Commissioner Beth Franklin Commissioner Lynn Rose Commissioner Linda Seever Commissioner Christina Leakey

Commissioners Excused:

Commissioner Herbert Bankston

Others present:

Deputy Executive Director Heather Figley Commissioner (Effective 8/1/20) Robbie Phillips

PUBLIC COMMENTS FROM THE FLOOR

No Comments from the public.

NEW BUSINESS

A. Resolution No. 1499 – Approval of New UMB Organizational Resolution and Agreement and Signature Holders on Bank Account



Administration explained to the Board that when a board member comes off the board and they were on the signature cards and bank organizational resolution, a new one has to be completed adding the new board member that is replacing the removed member. After final discussion, Commissioner Rose made the motion for approval and Commissioner Seever seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1499 was approved by majority vote at 9:11 am CST.

B. Resolution No. 1500 – Approval of New Commerce Bank Signature Card and Certificate of Resolution of Unincorporated Organization

Administration explained to the Board just as we did on Resolution 1499 for UMB Bank, we have to do the same thing for Commerce Bank. After final discussion, Commissioner Rose made the motion for approval and Commissioner Leakey seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1500 was approved by majority vote at 9:12 am CST.

C. Resolution No. 1501 – Approval of New Pay Plan and Grade Assignment

Administration explained that IHA will be creating a new position for the Jobs Plus to add a Job Developer position that will be paid for by the Grant. This will be for an additional 2.5 years that is left on the grant. After final discussion, Commissioner Seever made the motion for approval and Commissioner Leakey seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1501 was approved by majority vote at 9:13 am CST.

D. Vote for Officer - Chairperson

Commissioner Franklin, as Chairperson presiding for the last day of her commission before leaving the board, asked for nominations for Chairperson from the members present. Commissioner Leakey made a motion to nominate Commissioner Lynn Rose as Chairperson and Commissioner Seever seconded. After final discussion and the agreement of Commissioner Rose to accept the nomination, Commissioner Leakey made the motion for



approval and Commissioner Rose seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose - Aye; Commissioner Leakey– Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Nomination for Commissioner Rose to be the next Chairperson was approved by majority vote at 09:15 am CST.

E. Vote for Officer - Vice-Chair

Commissioner Franklin, as Chairperson presiding for the last day of her commission before leaving the board, asked for nominations for Vice-Chair from the members present. Commissioner Rose made a motion to nominate Commissioner Christina Leakey as Vice-Chair and Commissioner Seever seconded. After final discussion and the agreement of Commissioner Leakey to accept the nomination, Commissioner Rose made the motion for approval and Commissioner Seever seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose - Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Nomination for Commissioner Leakey to be the next Vice-Chair was approved by majority vote at 09:17 am CST.

Old Business: June Minutes

NON-AGENDA ITEMS FROM THE BOARD – None

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Franklin requested a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Seever moved for approval and Commissioner Rose seconded the motion. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Adjournment was approved by majority vote at 9:18 am CST.

F. Call to Order and Roll Call Vote by Beth Franklin, Chairperson to Enter Into Closed Session to Discuss Strategic Planning Session Pursuant to Sunshine Law 610.021 (18).

Commissioner Rose made the motion to go into Closed Session and Commissioner Seever seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. The Vote to Enter into Closed Session was approved by majority



vote at 9:20 am CST.

G. Call to Order and Roll Call Vote by Beth Franklin, Chairperson to Exit Closed Session for the Strategic Planning Session Pursuant to Sunshine Law 610.021 (18)

Commissioner Leakey made the motion to exit Closed Session and Commissioner Seever seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Seever – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. The Vote to Exit Closed Session was approved by majority vote at 11:35 am CST.

Secretary	Presiding Officer
-	